The scientific emphasis of TransRisk is focussed on transformation products that result from oxidative degradation of trace pollutants. The resulting risk is analyzed in detail and integrated into an action-oriented risk management concept.

To achieve a further degradation of trace substances and minimizing the formation of transformation products, TransRisk analyses various combinations of conventional purification methods (e.g. nitrification) with advanced treatment techniques (e.g. ozonation and activated carbon filtration). Furthermore, new methods such as the use of iron bacteria in biological wastewater treatment are studied in detail.

Other focal points of TransRisk are emerging pathogens and antibiotic-resistant germs. New detection methods are being developed to understand the spread of these bacteria better and take appropriate measures.

The project results achieved are discussed in the model region Donauried with local stakeholders, and - if possible - even implemented.

TransRisk is a joint project, which consists of a total of 15 projects from 14 institutions such as universities, water utilities, associations, industry and research institutions. The project is funded by the Federal Ministry of Education and Research (BMBF) within the research focus "NaWaM - Sustainable water management" in the context of the funding measure "RiSKWa - risk management of new pollutants and pathogens in the water cycle". The funding priority NaWaM combines the global activities of the BMBF in the water within the BMBF-Research Framework Programme "FONA - Research for Sustainable Development".

Coordinator: Prof. Dr. Thomas A. Ternes
Federal Institute of Hydrology (BfG)
Am Mainzer Tor 1
D-56068 Koblenz
phone ++ 49-261 13065560
fax ++ 49-261 13065363
e-mail: (ternes(at)

Project partner: Prof. Dr. Jörg Oehlmann
Johann Wolfgang Goethe-University Frankfurt
Department Aquatic Ecotoxicology
Siesmayerstr. 70
D-60054 Frankfurt am Main
phone ++ 49-69 79842142
fax ++ 49-69 79876342142
e-mail: oehlmann(at)

Principle investigators:
Aennes Abbas (abbas(at)
Ilona Schneider (i.schneider(at)
Dr. Ulrike Schulte-Oehlmann (schulte-oehlmann(at)
Matin Wagner (wagner(at)

Funded by